Why Do We Write?

Hopeful reflections on the craft of writing

Ash P.
8 min readJan 29, 2024
Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

I have a confession that is hardly groundbreaking for anyone who has ever tried to put words on paper. But I must say it: I don’t know why I write, and half the time I hardly think of myself as a writer.

I am an aimless writer.

The only thing I know about myself is that I have to write. Which form my writing takes is anyone’s guess, but it’ll take a form eventually because I just have to get the words out.

But I don’t know why I write or what I even want to write, much less what to consistently write about. This makes me question myself in more ways than one.

Sometimes I drive myself into a spiral, which then turns into a crisis of craft. Imagine imposter syndrome times a hundred: your soul says you were born to write and your mind tells you to get a real job because you suck. Some days you trust one part of you more than the other. Other days it feels like both parts are lying.

It’s a huge problem for me, and one that I don’t know how to solve.

But didn’t Orwell already cover this?

Yes, but Orwell thinks us lazy.

In his Why I Write essay, he explains the four reasons why a writer writes: sheer egoism, aesthetic…

--

--