7 Things You Can Do Right Now to Improve as a Writer

Because there’s always space for improvement

Ash P.
5 min readNov 3, 2021
Image by Irene Falgueras on Blush Design.

I’m not the writer I used to be.

After freelancing for almost 4 years, it’s safe to say I’ve grown both as a person and as a writer (for the better, of course). My time as a content writer and copywriter has allowed me to upscale my skillset and become a much better, much more talented, writer.

Here are the most significant lessons I’ve learned during my time as a writer. See which ones you can apply into your writing life.

1. Make time for learning

This tip comes with a prerequisite: you have to drop your ego long enough to see where you lack skill and knowledge.

Once you do that, you’ll be more likely to improve as a writer.

I’m not telling you to go back to school. Making time to learn new and relevant skills can be as simple as taking a digital marketing course on LinkedIn Learning or signing up for a free writing workshop.

Make a list of the most important skills you’d like to have and find the time each day to learn them.

2. Have an idea hub

Here’s the thing: I don’t get content ideas very often, and when I do, they’re…

--

--